2024 Concacaf Champions Cup semi-final schedule confirmed

  • Four clubs will compete to be crowned Concacaf club champions
  • The winner will claim the Confederation’s fourth and final place for the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup.
  • The tournament table determined the semi-final pairs and each club’s path to the final
  • Depending on the competition rankings, the highest ranked clubs will host the return matches.
Miami, Florida (Monday, April 15, 2024) – Concacaf has confirmed the schedule for the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup semi-finals. The two home and away series will take place on April 23 and 24 (first legs) and April 30 and May 1 (second legs) and will determine the finalists of the competition.

The 59th edition of the Concacaf Champions Cup, revamped to include 27 clubs and five rounds, began in February with the first round, followed by the round of 16 in March and the quarter-finals in the first two weeks of april.

The four clubs qualified for the semi-finals are (in alphabetical order): CF Monterrey (MEX), CF Pachuca (MEX), Club America (MEX) and Columbus Crew (USA).

In the quarterfinals on Tuesday, April 9, reigning MLS champions Columbus Crew advanced to their first Concacaf Champions Cup semifinal after defeating Tigres UANL 4-3 on penalties. on goal – the series ended 2-2 on aggregate. Later in the evening, Club America advanced to its eighth Champions Cup semi-final with a 5-2 home victory over the New England Revolution (9-2 on aggregate).

The following day, CF Pachuca and CF Monterrey secured a place in the penultimate round of the competition with home wins over CS Herediano and Inter Miami CF, respectively. CF Pachuca beat the Costa Rican club 2-1 at Estadio Hidalgo (7-1 on aggregate), and CF Monterrey beat Inter Miami CF 3-1 at Estadio BBVA (5-2 on aggregate) .

The semi-final pairs and each club’s route to the final were determined during the official competition draw on December 13, 2023 and are as follows (support is available below):

SF1: CF Pachuca vs. Club América
SF2: Columbus Crew vs. CF Monterrey

According to the competition regulations, the best performing club in each pair will host the semi-finals second leg. The current ranking, which does not take into account the results of the first round, is as follows:

Based on points (pts), goal difference (gd) and goals scored (gs) in the round of 16 and quarter-finals.

  1. CF Monterrey (12 pts, +5 bd, 8 bd)
  2. CF Pachuca (10 pts, +12 gd, 13 gd)
  3. Club America (9 pts, +9 bd, 14 bd)
  4. Columbus Crew (6 pts, +1 gd, 4 gd)
After a two-way match, the winning pairs will advance to the final. In accordance with the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup regulations, the host of the final will be determined by competition standings, with the highest-ranked club hosting the one-legged match.

If one of CF Monterrey, CF Pachuca or Club America were awarded the rights to host the final, Concacaf would seek another date due to Mexican national elections taking place on June 2. Concacaf will confirm more details after the semi-finals second leg.

*Kick-off times are listed in ET (local) and the host club is listed first.

First legs of the semi-finals

Tuesday April 23, 2024
10:15 p.m. (8:15 p.m.) Club America vs. CF Pachuca – Estadio Azteca, Mexico City, Mexico

Wednesday April 24, 2024
8:15 p.m. (8:15 p.m.) Columbus Crew vs. CF Monterrey – Lower.com Field, Columbus, OH, USA

Semi-final second legs

Tuesday April 30, 2024
9:15 p.m. (7:15 p.m.) CF Pachuca vs. Club America – Estadio Hidalgo, Pachuca, Mexico

Wednesday May 1, 2024
10:15 p.m. (8:15 p.m.) CF Monterrey vs. Columbus Crew – Estadio BBVA, Monterrey, Mexico

Supporters can follow and enjoy the competition via the Confederation’s partner TV networks, including FOX Sports | Tubi (US-English), TUDN | ViX (US-Spanish), Fox Sports Mexico (Mexico-Spanish), ESPN | Star+ (Central America, Caribbean and South America) and official Concacaf platforms for all other territories (subject to territorial restrictions).

In the previous edition of the Concacaf Champions Cup, Club Leon of Mexico won their first continental title after defeating LAFC 3-1 in the final on aggregate. By winning the title, Club Leon secured a place at the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup. The winner of the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup will join Club Leon (2023), Seattle Sounders FC ( 2022) and CF Monterrey (2021) as the region’s four representatives. in the new 32-team Club World Cup.

In accordance with FIFA regulations, if CF Monterrey wins the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup, the fourth Confederation representative will be determined based on the new FIFA Confederations Club Rankings (available here). Additionally, FIFA has applied a cap of two clubs per country, except for cases where clubs are winners of the Concacaf Champions Cup, meaning that Mexican clubs will not be considered during determining the highest ranked club based on the FIFA rankings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *