Kerala Election Results 2024 LIVE: A pitched battle between LDF and UDF as BJP hopes to open account in Kerala

Update – June 04, 2024 09:44 IST

Published – June 4, 2024 at 07:54 IST

Preparations are in full swing ahead of the counting of votes from Alathur and Palakkad Lok Sabha constituencies at Government Victoria College, Palakkad on June 4.

Counting of votes for the 2024 general elections in Kerala has begun. The initial trend that emerged from the counting of postal ballots in most Lok Sabha seats in Kerala on Tuesday indicated a neck-and-neck fight between the Congress-led UDF and the CPI-led LDF( M).

Polling was held in a single phase on April 26, the second phase of the 18th Lok Sabha polls. Kerala has 20 constituencies and the voter turnout was 71.27%. Out of the total 2,77,49,158 voters in Kerala, 1,97,77,478 exercised their franchise.

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024

In the 2019 general elections, the UDF won 19 seats and the LDF won one, Alappuzha.

In 2024, under the LDF, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) contested 15 seats, the Communist Party of India (CPI) four seats and the Kerala Congress (M) (KC(M)) one seat. From the United Democratic Front (UDF): Indian National Congress (INC) won 16 seats, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) won 2 seats, Kerala Congress and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) won one seat each.

Under NDA, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contested 16 seats and the Bharat Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) four seats.

Also read: Kerala political parties optimistic amid low voter turnout

Despite its support for the INDIA alliance, the LDF fielded strong candidates in all constituencies in Kerala.

The NDA is making strong efforts to open its Lok Sabha account in Kerala. In Thiruvananthapuram constituency, the NDA fielded Union Minister Rajeev Chandrashekar against incumbent MP Shashi Tharoor (INC) and Pannian Raveendran (CPI).

In Wayanad, incumbent MP Rahul Gandhi (INC) is contesting against Annie Raja (CPI) and BJP Kerala state president K. Surendran, while in Attingal, the NDA has fielded the Minister of Union V. Muraleedharan (BJP) against incumbent MP Adoor Prakash (INC).

Watch | Why Kerala’s Lok Sabha polls attracted national attention

During the 2024 elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi visited Kerala several times and the BJP also focused its campaign on garnering votes from the Christian community in the state.

Lok Sabha polls: Over 1.42 lakh voters use door-to-door polling services in Kerala

Follow live updates below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *