Know where to watch live streaming and telecast in India

THE Indian men’s cricket team will look to end a 17-year trophy drought at ICC T20 World Cup 2024planned for the West Indies and the USA in June.

India were the first winners of the T20 World Cup in 2007 in South Africa under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Since then, the Men in Blue have been in a void.

The Indian men’s cricket team last reached the final of a T20 World Cup in 2014 but lost a decision to Sri Lanka. In the last edition in 2022, India bowed out after losing to England, future champions, in the semi-final.

India, currently the top cricket team in the world T20I rankings, will be led by Rohit Sharma in the upcoming T20 Cricket World Cup in the Americas. Hardik Pandya will be the vice-captain.

Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav are also part of the squad. The Indian men’s cricket team has been drawn in Group A alongside USA, Canada, Ireland and arch-rivals Pakistan.

India’s T20 WC 2024 campaign begins against Ireland on June 5 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. The same venue will host the India-Pakistan showpiece match on June 9 and the subsequent clash against the United States. The final group match against Canada will be played in Florida.

A total of 20 teams are participating in the 2024 T20 World Cup, four more than the last edition in 2022 hosted by Australia. The teams were divided into four groups of five each. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 8, which begins on June 20.

For the Super 8, the eight teams will be divided into two groups of four and the first two from each group will advance to the semi-finals, scheduled for June 26 and 27.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 final will be played at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados on June 29.

India beat Bangladesh by 60 runs in the only warm-up match they played ahead of the 2024 T20 World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *